Backing up a Moodle Course

When moving from one Moodle server to another, contents from previous courses can be saved for easy setup on a new page. Backing up Moodle items in this process will best preserve materials and avoid formatting issues.

If you have any questions or need help with backing up course contents, reach out to the Moodle Team!

Backing Up Content

Click on the Configuration Wheel and select Backup.

When saving content in Moodle, always uncheck the following:

  • Include enrolled users
  • Include groups and groupings

Moodle pages will automatically add users, so these options are not needed in the backup. Click Next to review individual materials.

To save all of the materials, scroll down to the bottom of the screen and click Next again.

Review the final details of the backup - confirm that there is a red X next to Include enrolled users. Users should not be saved in the backup process.

Click Perform backup.

How do I add these items to my course?

To restore the materials to your course, see the steps in Restore a Moodle Course.

Details

Article ID: 111942
Created
Wed 7/15/20 2:06 PM
Modified
Wed 7/15/20 2:13 PM