Opting In to Google Gemini in Workspace Applications

For students and faculty, Google Gemini assistance is disabled by default in Google Drive, Docs, Slides, Forms, Drawings, and Vids. This means that access to Gemini from within those applications is not available. Gemini will still have access to your Drive content when accessed directly through the Gemini app or from Gmail, Calendar, or Meet. If you would like to activate Gemini assistance in Google Workspace apps, you need to join the Gemini for Google Workspace Opt-in group, which will then toggle access on. This can be done at any time, and you can likewise choose to leave the group to have the access removed.

Joining the Gemini for Google Workspace Opt-in group

Detailed instructions for joining the group:

  1. Click on this Gemini for Google Workspace Opt-in group link
  2. You will see the following screen, with a link to joining the group
    Screen shot of Google Groups page for Gemini Workspace Opt-in with arrow highlighting the joining the group link
  3. Click on that link and you will see the following screen, indicating that you have successfully joined the opt-in group
    Screen shot of Google Gemini Workspace opt-in Group showing No conversations yet message
  4. You will need to wait up to 5 minutes for the change to be reflected in your Google Workspace apps, such as the appearance of the Gemini assistant at the bottom of the Docs page, or the Gemini star in the upper-right corner.

Leaving the Gemini for Google Workspace Opt-in group

If you decide that you'd like the Gemini tool not to appear in your Workspace apps after joining the group, you can choose to leave the group to have them return to the default removed setting.

To do so:

  1. Click on the Gemini for Google Workspace Opt-in group link
  2. You will see the following screen, with a menu item on the left to access My membership settings
    Screen shot of Google Groups page with arrow highlighting left side menu item labeled My membership settings
  3. Click on that link, and you will see the screen below with a button to Leave group
    Screen capture of Google groups settings page highlighting the Leave group button at the top center following the group name
  4. Click on that button and you will see the message that you no longer have permission to access this content.
    Screen capture of Google groups page showing the message that you don't have access to this group
  5. If you refresh the page, or return to the group page at another time, you will once again see the link allowing you to join the group.